Munson Health
Institutional Review Board


An institutional review board (IRB), also known as an independent ethics committee (IEC) or ethical review board (ERB), is a committee that has been formally designated to approve, monitor, and review biomedical and behavioral research involving humans. The goal of the IRB is to protect the rights and welfare of research subjects. In the United States, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP) have empowered IRBs to approve, require modifications in planned research prior to approval, or disapprove research. An IRB performs critical oversight functions for research conducted on human subjects that are scientific, ethical, and regulatory.

IRB Board Members

IRB Chairman
Michael McManus, M.D.

IRB Administrator
Judith Murray, BSN, R.N.

IRB Voting Members
Terry Baumann, RPH
Diane Carpenter Emling, Ph.D.
James P. Fischer, RN, MS. MBA.
Steven D. Hodges, M.D.
T. Michael Jackson, BA.
Brian D. Jaffe, M.D.
Carol Lambertson, CCRP.
Michael McManus, M.D.
Rebecca M. Norris, M.D.
Corey Sanderson
Daniel Webster, M.D.
Laura C. Wightman, RN, MSN, DNP
Cynthia Nichols, PhD

Alternate Voting Member
Judith Murray, BSN, R.N.