Munson Health
 
Gluten-Free Diet

Back to Document

by Adams M

(Gluten-Restricted Diet)

What Is Gluten?

Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and numerous other foods containing or made from these ingredients. Gluten can also be found in many non-food items, such as medicines, lipstick, and stamp adhesives.

Why Should I Follow a Gluten-Free Diet?

If you have gluten intolerance or celiac disease , your body is unable to digest gluten. Consuming gluten may result in symptoms such as cramping, bloating, gas, and diarrhea . The only treatment is to eliminate gluten from your diet. Following a gluten-free diet can reverse any intestinal damage and nutrient deficiencies that may have occurred as a result of consuming gluten.

Gluten-Free Diet Basics

On this diet, gluten must be completely avoided, as any amount of gluten can cause damage to the small intestine. Learning how to eat gluten-free can be challenging, since gluten is found in many so-called “staple foods,” such as cereals, breads, and pasta.
Moreover, gluten is often found in unsuspecting foods, such as frozen yogurt, soy sauce, and beer. Fortunately, there are many gluten-free alternatives, making it possible—with a little practice and help from a registered dietitian—to still eat a well-balanced, satisfying diet.

Gluten-Free Eating Guide

The following guide lists foods that are recommended, foods that should be questioned because they may contain gluten, and foods that should be avoided. While this guide is fairly comprehensive, it is not a complete list of all the foods that should or should not be avoided. It is important to work with a registered dietitian who specializes in gluten intolerance to learn which foods can safely be a part of your diet.
Food CategoryFoods Recommended Foods to Question *Foods to Avoid
Grains and Starchy Vegetables
  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Bean flours (garbanzo, fava, romano)
  • Cassava
  • Corn
  • Flax
  • Kasha
  • Hominy
  • Indian rice grass
  • Job’s tears
  • Mesquite flour
  • Millet
  • Montina
  • Nut flours and meals
  • Pea flour
  • Potatoes, potato flour/starch
  • Quinoa
  • All forms of rice (eg, white, brown, jasmine, wild)
  • Sago
  • Sorghum
  • Soy flour
  • Tapioca (manioc, cassava, yucca)
  • Teff
  • Uncontaminated oats **
  • Yucca
  • Baked products made with buckwheat (Buckwheat is sometimes blended with wheat flour in baking mixes.)
  • Cereals (may contain barley malt flavoring or barley malt extract)
  • Communion wafer
  • French fries
  • Matzo
  • Rice mixes, rice pilaf
  • Barley
  • Bulgur
  • Chapatti flour
  • Couscous
  • Cracked wheat
  • Dinkel
  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Faro
  • Fu
  • Gluten, gluten flour
  • Graham flour
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Kamut
  • Malt
  • Matzo flour/meal
  • Oats (most commercial brands) **
  • Orzo
  • Panko
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Udon
  • Wheat (wheat flour, wheat bran, wheat germ, other wheat products)
Vegetables
  • All plain fresh, frozen, and canned vegetables
  • Vegetables in sauce
  • Breaded vegetables
Fruits
  • All plain fresh, frozen, and canned fruits
  • Dried fruits (may be dusted with flour)
  • Thickened fruits
Milk
  • Milk, buttermilk, and cream
  • Plain cheese, cream cheese, cottage cheese
  • Yogurt
  • Cheese sauces and spreads
  • Flavored cheese
  • Malted milk
Meats and Beans
  • All plain, fresh meat, poultry, and fish
  • Eggs
  • Legumes
  • Nuts, nut butters (eg, peanut butter)
  • Seeds
  • Tofu
  • Cold cuts, hot dogs, salami, sausage
  • Imitation seafood
  • Flavored tofu
  • Meat marinades and flavorings
  • Seasoned nuts
  • Poultry basted or injected with broth
  • Breaded meat, poultry, or fish
Oils
  • Vegetable oils (eg, canola and olive)
  • Margarine (choose trans-free margarines)
  • Mayonnaise
Sweets and Snack Foods
  • Cakes, cookies, and pastries made from gluten-free flours
  • Corn and rice tortillas
  • Egg custards
  • Gelatin desserts
  • Plain popcorn
  • Plain rice cakes or rice crackers
  • Plain corn chips or corn crackers
  • Whipped toppings
  • Candy
  • Ice cream, sherbet, sorbet, and popsicles
  • Potato chips
  • Seasoned or flavored snack chips
  • Chocolate bars and candy that contain barley malt flavoring or wheat flour
  • Ice cream made with gluten-containing ingredients (eg, cookie dough, brownies)
  • Ice cream cones
  • Icing and frosting
Beverages
  • Distilled alcoholic beverages (eg, rum, gin, whiskey, vodka, wine, and pure liqueurs)
  • Coffee
  • Juices
  • Soft drinks
  • Tea
  • Cocoa drinks
  • Flavored alcoholic beverages (eg, ciders and coolers)
  • Flavored teas and coffees
  • Non-dairy soy, rice, potato, and nut beverages
  • Undistilled alcoholic beverages (eg, beer, ale, lager)
Other (Condiments, Baking Ingredients, Soups, Sauces, and Gravies)
  • Aspartame
  • Baking soda
  • Butter, lard, and shortening
  • Carob chips and carob powder
  • Corn syrup, maple syrup, and sugar (brown, white, and confectioner’s)
  • Cream of tartar
  • Homemade broths
  • Honey
  • Jams, jellies, marmalade
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Pure cocoa, baking chocolate, and chocolate chips
  • Plain pickles and relish
  • Pure herbs and spices
  • Pure black pepper
  • Salt
  • Vanilla
  • Vinegars (eg, apple, balsamic, cider, distilled white, grape, wine, spirit)
  • Yeast
  • Baking powder
  • Bouillon cubes
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Gravy and sauces
  • Soups and broths
  • Salad dressings
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Malt vinegar
  • Soy sauce
  • Teriyaki sauce
 

RESOURCES

American Dietetic Association
http://www.eatright.org/

Celiac Disease Foundation
http://www.celiac.org/

 

CANADIAN RESOURCES

Canadian Celiac Association
http://www.celiac.ca/

Canadian Dietetic Association
http://www.dietitians.ca/

 

References


Celiac disease. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disease website. Available at: http://digestive.niddk.nih.gov/ddiseases/pubs/celiac/ . Accessed January 3, 2010.


The gluten-free diet. Canadian Celiac Association website. Available at: http://www.celiac.ca/EnglishCCA/egfdiet2.html#allowed . Accessed January 3, 2010.


Gluten-free diet guide for families. Children’s Digestive Health and Disease Foundation website. Available at: http://www.cdhnf.org/user-assets/documents/pdf/GlutenFreeDietGuideWeb.pdf . Accessed January 3, 2010.


Raymond N, Heap J, Case S. The gluten-free diet: an update for health professionals. University of Virginia Health System website. Available at: http://www.healthsystem.virginia.edu/internet/digestive-health/nutritionarticles/Sept0601.pdf . Published September 2006. Accessed January 3, 2010.

 

Revision Information