Munson Healthcare Employee myClubs: Sports

Looking for a way to connect with other Munson Healthcare employees and stay active? myClubs: Sports are a great option for seasonal sports. Participants at all levels are welcome to join any sports club! There is no cost to join. Each participant receives a free jersey, compliments of Munson Healthcare. After you submit your registration form, you will receive a link and a coupon code to order your jersey. 

Sign up by clicking the button below. 

 

Sign Up

 

I'm Already Part of a Sports Club

Already part of a sports club? Join the MHC Sports Club Facebook Group for regular updates.

My Location Isn't Listed

Would you love to see one of the clubs below added in your area? Click the button below and fill out the form to show your interest. New clubs are organized each year. 

 

I'm Interested


Mountain Bike Club

Beginner routes are on flat terrain with three to seven mile loop options. Sport and expert routes start with 10 - 20 mile rides. 

Traverse City

Events many club members participate in include: Mud, Sweat, and Beers (May); Ore to Shore (Aug.), Peak to Peak (Oct.), and Iceman Cometh Challenge (Nov.).

When: Wednesdays @ 6:00 pm | May through October

Where: Vasa Singletrack trailhead off of Supply Road

Captains: Dennis Aurand: 810-488-2087 or daurand@mhc.net | Chelsey Patterson: 231-357-0693 or cpatterson@mhc.net | Kris Sutten: 231-920-9059 or ksutten@mhc.net

 

Sign Up


Paddling Club

Traverse City

Mondays at 6:00 pm we’ll typically meet at the Senior Center and join the OC6 tribe for some paddle time on the bay. Paddle boards, kayaks, canoes, surfskis and any human-powered paddle craft are all welcome. Other gatherings will be free form with other lakes and Boardman river outings. Expect at least a 48-hour notice for other outings via email and Facebook group.

Events many club members participate in include: Rapa Nui, Charlevoix Dragon Boat festival, crystal lake SUP challenge, etc.

When: Mondays @ 6:00 pm

Where: Location varies, but is often at at Senior Center (801 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49686)

Captain: Glen Ruczynski: gruczynski@mhc.net

 

Sign Up


Road Bike Club

All levels, all bikes, and all ages are welcome to join the Munson Healthcare Road Bike Club. The club always offers short and long ride options ranging from 10 to 30 miles.

Traverse City

Events many club members participate in include: Spring Pumpkin Pedal (May), Smart Commute Week (June), Less Cancer Ride (June), Ride Around Torch (July), Leelanau Harvest Tour (Sept.)

When: Thursdays @ 6:00 pm | May through October

Where: Starting locations rotate between the Cherry Bend TART Trailhead and Central High School.

Captains: Kim Garlington: 231-392-5259 or kgarlington@mhc.net

 

Sign Up


Running Club

Whether you were born to run, or you just want to get outside for some fresh air exercise, the Munson Healthcare Running Club welcomes you. Walkers, walk/runners, and runners can join. Your walk or run is individualized to your current level of fitness/training plan. The club ensures everyone has at least one other person to run or walk with the entire time.

Gaylord

When: TBD

Where: TBD

Captains: Meagan Rinck: 989-731-7984, mrinck@mhc.net

 

Sign Up

Traverse City

Events many club members participate in include: Bayshore Marathon, half, 10K (May), Solstice Glen Arbor (June), The Cherry Festival - Meijer Festival of Races (July), Dune Dash (Aug.), Harvest Stampede (Sept.), Northern Lights Fun Run (Sept), Remembrance Run (Oct.), Zombie Run (Oct.), The Great BEERd Run (Nov.), Farmland Run (Dec.), and Jingle Bell Run (Dec.).

When: Tuesdays @ 6:30 pm | Meet up with TC Track Club: Mondays and Wednesdays at 6:30 pm

Where: Lot K or a local establishment - Details are emailed out at the beginning of the week.

Captains: Erica Harrell: 517-588-1202 or eharrell78@yahoo.com | Mark Jerva: 312-607-4610 or mjerva@mhc.net

 

Sign Up


Softball Club

You could be one of the 40 million Americans who enjoy playing softball each year by joining the Munson Healthcare Softball Club!

Traverse City

Softball registration for season 2 will be open July 2nd and 3rd.

Choose from the Sunday League or the Monday League. Both leagues are co-ed and all skill levels are welcome. Bats, balls, and jerseys are provided.

Season 1: May 5th thru June 30th
Season 1 is over - thanks for a great season to all participants.

  • Sunday or Monday games
  • Games are 1hr 10min (afternoon/evening)
  • 6 guys 6 gals per team

Season 2: July 14th thru August 25th

Registration is now closed.. All levels welcome. Game times co-ed games take place on Sunday evenings between 3pm-9pm. All games are 1 hour 20 mins.

Where: Grand Traverse County Civic Center fields

Captains: Adam Vorpagel: 586-899-1034 or avorpagel@mhc.net | Kim Garlington: 231-392-5259 or kgarlington@mhc.net

 


Walking Club

The Walking Club is a great choice, whether you currently walk and are looking for company or want to start walking regularly.

Traverse City

All levels welcome for two and four mile loop options.

When: Tuesdays @ 5:15 pm | Throughout the summer

Where: Lot K near Munson Medical Center

Captains: Ann Miller: 231-884-4436 or amiller7@mhc.net | Kristi Noble: 231-590-5354 or knoble@mhc.net

 

Sign Up


Winter Sports Clubs

These are the current clubs. More details will be added as the winter sports club season comes closer.


Cross/Skate Skiing

Traverse City

When: Winter months

Where: Timber Ridge with the VASA Ski Club


Downhill Skiing

Traverse City

When: Thursdays | Winter months

Where: Crystal Mountain


Fat Tire Biking

Traverse City

When: Thursdays | Winter months

Where: Timber Ridge with the VASA Ski Club


Ice Fishing

Traverse City

When: Winter months

Where: Fife Lake and other locations


Snowshoeing

Gaylord

When: Wednesdays @ 5:30 pm | Winter months

Where: Aspen Park

Traverse City

When: Tuesdays | Winter months

Where: State Hospital trails, departing from Left Foot Charley or Earthen Ales


Soccer (Indoor)

Traverse City

Games are fast-paced, 5 versus 5, coed. Munson Healthcare will cover the registration cost. 

When: Wednesdays | February - March

Where: Grand Traverse Bay YMCA - West Location on Silver Lake Road